Whalan City Council Regular Meeting Monday, December 12, 2022 Meeting held at the Whalan Town Hall and via Zoom

Present: Marlys Tuftin, Sheila Higbe, and Thore E. Johnson - Member Lewis participated remotely from

1511 East Florence, Casa Grande, AZ.

Absent: Kim Berekvam

Visitors: Dave Ruberg, Randy Berekvam, Melanie Murphy, David Hallum, Barb Jeffers, Tammy Hughes,

and Ben Ruberg

Regular Meeting:

Mayor Tuftin called the Regular Meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

- A. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.
- **B.** Agenda: Member Lewis motioned to approve the agenda as presented. Member Johnson seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.
- **C. Approval of Minutes:** Minutes of the November 14, 2022 Council Meeting were read by Mayor Tuftin. Member Johnson motioned to approve the minutes as presented. Member Higbe seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.
- D. Treasurer's Report: Clerk Peterson provided the treasurer's report. The following are the balances as of 11/30/2022: General Fund \$35,132.85, Court Reimbursement Fund \$14,638.00, Taste of the Trail \$3,130.55, Ballfield Fund \$1,135.06, Beautification Fund \$187.00, American Recovery Act Funding \$7,212.62, Small Cities Assist \$12,153.00, General Capital \$27,371.65, and Electric Fund \$34,893.63. Member Lewis motioned to approve the treasurer's report including the following accounts payable:

Claim No	Vendor	Amount	Check Number
1212221	Marlys Tuftin	\$450.00	6104
1212222	Kim Berekvam	\$250.00	6105
1212223	Owen Lewis	\$300.00	6106
1212224	Thore Everett Johnson	\$300.00	6107
1212225	Sheila Higbe	\$300.00	6108
1212226	Whalan Museum	\$70.26	6109
1212227	City of Lanesboro	\$250.00	6110
1212228	Acentek	\$40.66	6111
1212229	Plunkett's Pest Control	\$44.13	6112
12122210	MiEnergy	\$3,106.78	6113

12122211	Harter's Trash & Recycling Inc	\$128.78	6114
12122212	Bolton & Menk, Inc	\$2,495.50	6115
Payroll	Payroll Period Ending 11/30/2022	\$570.13	6116
12122214	O'Koren Law Office LLC	\$105.00	6117
12122213	Thore Everett Johnson	\$90.00	6118
12122215	Fillmore County Treasurer	\$28, 349.93	6119

Member Higbe seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.

E. Welcome to Visitors and Visitor Comments: No comments were shared.

F. New Business:

- **a.** Liability Coverage Waiver Form: Member Lewis motioned to not waive the monetary limits on municipal tort liability coverage. Member Johnson seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.
- b. Cost Share of Road Project with Fillmore County: Member Johnson motioned to approve payment to the Fillmore County Treasurer for the 2022 Road Project (SAP 23-636-003). Member Higbe seconded the motion. Funds will be disbursed as follows: \$12,153.00 from the Small Cities Assist Fund, \$8,212.62 from the ARPA Fund, \$2,500 from the 2022 Operations Budget, and \$8,979.81 from the Reimbursement Fund. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.
- **c. AED Defibrillator Pad Replacement:** Member Johnson motioned to approve purchasing adult and pediatric replacement pads for the three AED units in the community. Member Higbe seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.

G. Continued Business:

- **a. Snow Plowing Agreement:** Clerk Peterson noted that all signature pages have been received except for one. It was also noted that the first plowing went well this past weekend.
- **b. 2023 Budget Resolution 2022-9:** Member Lewis motioned to approve the resolution 2022-9 setting the final tax levy for 2023 at \$56,102. Member Johnson seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.
- **c. Town Hall Siding:** The grant applied for through the Minnesota Historical Society was not funded. Members noted a desire to bring the discussion back to the Council in January to discuss options for moving forward.
- **d. Zoning Board:** Clerk Peterson noted that there is still an available seat on the board, however at this time no applications have been received. Member Higbe motioned to appoint Ben Ruberg and David Hallum to the board for 3 year terms each. Member

Johnson seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with Mayor Tuftin, and Members Johnson and Higbe voted in favor. Member Lewis voted against. Motion carried. Member Johnson motioned to appoint member Sheila Higbe to the Zoning Board for 2023. Member Lewis seconded the motion. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.

Next Meeting: Monday, January 9, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

ADJOURN: Member Johnson moved to adjourn at 5:30 p.m. Motion seconded by Member Lewis. Vote was done by roll-call with all in favor. Motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted, Michele Peterson City Clerk/Treasurer